Call of the Wild

August 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

Tuesday.  Much like any other weekday, except on these mornings I am in a race with the garbage man to see who can reach the end of my driveway first.  (Thankfully, I won again today.)  Upon returning from my Garbage Can Race, a hawk caught my eye.  Hmm — no big deal, living out in the woods like we do, we hear them all the time.  But this feathered guy was sitting on the pool.  On the pool? Yup, and seemingly as content as could be.  He even jumped onto one of the baby floats and showed off his mad bouncing skills.  Bouncing skills?? This was a job for Super Camera.

Naturally I tried sneaking closer….but apparently my flip flops and I aren’t a recipe for stealth, as the pool lounging hawk then flew off and took refuge in the nearby trees.  I was hot in pursuit, with my kiddos tucked safely indoors, their noses pressed against the windows… and left to wonder what their loco mother was doing creeping about the yard with a camera at 8:00 in the morning.  Chasing birds no less.

Satisfied, I returned to the house to resume the routine of the day.  Approximately one hour later, my daughter called me to the living room window, pointing to two spotted fawns that were timidly exploring the wooded backyard.  Opening the door as quietly as possible, I scooted towards them as closely as I dared (stealth was more readily achieved this time sans flip flops.)  As I should have known, my children were right on my heels, but surprisingly, the deer seemed to be as curious about us as we were about them.  At one point it seemed almost as though they were having their own private discussion …. perhaps a consultation on who these strange clothed creatures were that were silently (or perhaps not so silently) scooting about the woods ?

Time passed…. we “ooed” and “awwed;” and after explaining to Liam twice why we couldn’t have a fawn as a pet, the pair eventually grew bored of us and frolicked their way back into the overgrown woods.  Since the morning breeze was so pleasant we decided to linger outdoors awhile longer … and within five minutes look what we found!

So while this morning didn’t go as planned, I didn’t mind.  Sometimes, going a little wild is just what you need ;o)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Call of the Wild at Kay's Corner.

meta

