C-A-P-T-A-I-N {book of the week}

January 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

“My name is Junie B. Jones.  The B stands for Beatrice.  Except I don’t like Beatrice.  I just like B and that’s all.”

Allow me to introduce you to little miss Junie B. Jones, a character created by author Barbara Park, and the starlet of this weeks’ featured book of the week:  Junie B. Jones Is Captain Field Day by Barbara Park, Illustrated by Denise Brunkus, and published by Scholastic Inc.

Barbara Park has won over forty children’s book awards, and her Junie B. Jones’ series have been found on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists.  In short, I am not the first to recommend this written work, and I certainly won’t be the last.  Possessing a charm, wit, and innocence that only a kindergartner can muster, Junie B. will make you chuckle time and time again.  Given as a gift to both my daughter and my daughter’s friend, both girls were ecstatic at the discovery of a new reading treasure that is written at a level which they can undertake on their own, but long enough to champion them to a “chapter book” level.  Let reading confidence abound! :)

Happy Reading!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading C-A-P-T-A-I-N {book of the week} at Kay's Corner.

meta

