Waiting.

April 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

Rumor has it that there may be a light coating of snow on the ground when we wake up in the morning.

I don’t want to talk about that though.  I really do not want to talk about that.  (I’m rooting heavily for the “may not” option that always accompanies a “may” possibility.)

Instead, I am going to look ahead to the future.  To viable spring planting.  To a seventy degree day that doesn’t have a blizzard following on its heels.  Yup.  Keeping my eyes trained on that beautiful golden horizon.

It looks a little something like this.

I brought these beauties home a couple weeks ago, my mind’s eye filled with visions of fresh dirt, , empty planting containers, and a splash of color gracing our front steps.  After a long winter, it is quite the tantalizing thought…and so it is that I am fixated on that goal.  I.will.plant.again.

You have probably noticed that Spring (or is it Winter? Personally, I’d prefer to blame Winter) has decided to teach us a lesson in patience this year. “Untimely,” “inconvenient,” and “unwanted” are three words that immediately come to mind, but I have nonetheless resigned myself to the fact that I won’t be planting tomorrow. Or probably the next day, or even the day after that. That splash of color gracing the front steps will just have to wait for another day. Being a “look to the future” kind of gal, I find myself often eagerly planning what’s around the next corner, whether it’s a project for our home, for the business, for the kids etc. Perhaps this is a not-so-subtle lesson in remembering to take note of the good things of today … our home, my business, my children…and the incredible bouquets of color that I have gracing my dining room…

Patiently waiting for Spring.

If they can do it, so can I.

(Just please don’t mention a word to me about snow ;)

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Waiting. at Kay's Corner.

meta

